The following awards or other notable achievements have recently occurred:

  • September 2018: Oklahoma Women Impact STEM and Entrepreneurship Conference, OK-STEM, outstanding poster award winner Elizabeth Smith
  • August 2018 The College of Atmospheric and Geographic Sciences – the Dean’s Award for Outstanding Service: Tracy Reinke
  • August 2018 National Weather Association Larry R. Johnson Award: The mPING team, including OU CIMMS Kim Elmore, Jeff Brogden, Brian Kaney, Heather Reeves, and other team members Zac Flaming, Aaron Anderson, Darrel Kingfield, Vicki Farmer, Susan Cobb and Valliappa Lakshmanan
  • July 2018 American Meteorological Society 2019 Editor’s Award for Weather Climate and Society: Kim Klockow-McClain
  • July 2018 American Meteorological Society 15th Conference on Cloud Physics and the 15th Conference on Atmospheric Radiation Best Student Oral Presentation for “The Effects of Radiation on Tropopause Polar Vortices Over the Greenland Ice Sheet:” Sarah Borg
  • June 2018 American Meteorological Society 29th Conference on Weather Analysis and Forecasting/25thConference on Numerical Weather Prediction Best Student Poster Presentation award for “Enhancing Storm-Scale 1-h Probabilistic Low-level Rotation Forecasts through Machine Learning:” Montgomery “Monte” Flora
  • June 2018 American Meteorological Society 13th Symposium on Societal Applications: Policy, Research and Practice Student Competition first place winner with the oral presentation, “Using Machine Learning Techniques to Predict Near-Term Severe Weather Trends:” David Harrison
  • April 2018 – Research Associate Megan Taylor honored as NOAA Team Member of the Month for serving as a critical member of the National Weather Service Office of the Chief Learning Officer team.
  • February 2018 AMS’ 8th Transition from Research to Operations first place oral presentation winner for “Developing and Testing Watch-scale Forecast Products in the FACETs Paradigm:” Makenzie Krocak
  • January 2018 the National Weather Association Greg Stumpf as a council member
  • January 2018, Dale Morris serve as a National Weather Association NWA Professional Development committee.
  • January 2018 AMS Aerosol-Cloud-Climate Symposium student presentation competition oral presentation winner: Siddhant Gupta.
  • January 2018 AMS’s 17th Conference on Artificial and Computational Intelligence and its Applications to the Environmental Sciences student competition second place oral presentation winner: David Harrison.
  • January 2018 AMS PECAN Symposium student competition first place poster presentation winner: Hristo Chipilski.

Past Awards