CIMMS Awards at NWAS16


CIMMS was in the spotlight at the 2016 National Weather Association Annual Meeting in Norfolk, Virginia. During the Annual Awards Banquet on Wednesday, September 13, several CIMMS employees were recognized for their work.

The Larry R. Johnson Special Award is presented each year to an individual or group in recognition of significant contributions to operational meteorology. CIMMS received the award for the second year, having been recognized in 2015 for contributions to the NOAA Hazardous Weather Testbed. This year, CIMMS was selected “for research, development, and delivery of severe weather applications within the Multi-Radar, Multi-Sensor system, which has been successfully transitioned into NWS operations, providing critical tools for NWS forecasts and warnings.” The award was presented to the group as a whole, with no specific names listed. However, the following individuals (current and former CIMMS staff, along with NOAA staff who provided crucial support) were acknowledged during the awards presentation:

Travis M Smith
Valliappa Lakshmanan
Gregory J. Stumpf
Kiel L. Ortega
Kurt Hondl
Karen Cooper
Kristin M. Calhoun
Darrel M. Kingfield
Kevin L. Manross
Robert Toomey
Jeff Brogden
Tiffany Meyer
Kevin Scharfenberg
Tony Reinhart
Brandon Smith
Chris Karstens
Holly Obermeier
Matt Mahalik
Clark Payne
Alyssa Bates
Jill Hardy
Chris Spannagle
Matt Taraldsen
Andy Wood
James LaDue
Robert Prentice
Matthew Elliot

In addition, CIMMS’ Katie (Bowden) Wilson was honored with the Dr. Roderick A. Scofield Scholarship in Meteorology. The award provides funding toward the completion of her Ph.D. program at the University of Oklahoma.

Congratulations to all on a job well done!