Researchers awarded at meteorological conference

Researchers with the University of Oklahoma Cooperative Institute for Mesoscale Meteorological Studies received awards at the American Meteorological Society 100th Annual Meeting in January.

Alexander Ryzhkov
Alexander Ryzhkov, whose research supports NOAA NSSL.

Scientist Alexander Ryzhkov received the 2019 Atmospheric Science Librarians International, or ASLI’s, CHOICE award for best book in the field of atmospheric science.

Ryzhkov co-authored “Radar Polarimetry for Weather Observations” with NOAA National Severe Storms Laboratory Researcher Dusan Zrnic, who also received the award.

CIMMS Senior Research Scientist Sebastian Torres and Researcher David Schvartzman also received awards at the annual meeting.

Torres received an Editor’s Award for the Journal of Atmospheric and Oceanic Technology. Torres was honored for, “providing thorough reviews that have helped the decision-making process in controversial situations.”

Two researchers standing with their awards in their hands.
Sebastian Torres, left, and David Schvartzman, right, receiving their awards at the American Meteorological Society’s 100th Annual Meeting. Both support research at NOAA NSSL. (Photo provided)

Schvartzman, who is also a PhD candidate, was awarded the AMS Spiros G. Geotis Student Prize. The Spiros G. Geotis Student Prize is awarded for an outstanding student paper presented at a technical conference on radar meteorology. His paper, titled “Design of Practical Pulse Compression Waveforms for Polarimetric Phased Array Radar,” presents practical system considerations to design waveforms with the goal of improving polarimetric radar data quality.

More details, and full award listing, on the AMS website.